Since the first week of me being away for school, things have changed drastically. About a month into my college experience here at WCU I put an application in for transfer to a university that’s significantly closer to my house.

Since placing my application in for transfer, a lot has happened. I’ve made fantastic friends, made fairly decent grades, held a steady job on campus, got involved in a few amazing organizations, I’m even currently taking a snowboarding class. All of these positive things have been happening to me, but I can’t help but feel like there’s something missing here.

While I’m having the best social experience possible here at WCU, I absolutely HATE my major. I’ve never disliked so many classes in my life and I’m almost to the point where I’ve taken too many classes and have too many credits to change my major, but that’s what I’m thinking about doing. I went to a five year high school where I graduated with my associate’s degree. So coming into a new setting where I’m supposed to know what I want to do for the rest of my life and having relatively no time to change my mind at all is unsettling to say in the least.

I miss my boyfriend, I miss my best friend, I miss my family. They are all back home and I’m all the way here at school and I don’t think I want to go through another semester without being close to them. At the same time though, my mom is absolutely against me coming home. She knows it’s my decision, but she keeps saying things like “don’t come home” , “you love WCU” , “you’ll hate it here if you come home” , “You’re only coming because of Chad” , etc. I just want her to support me through this, not tear me down and make me afraid of making a decision.

So I’ve had an epiphany. I’m 19 and it’s fully acceptable to not know what I want to do or to change my mind once in a while.

I’m hoping by this time next month to have my mind made up and to stick with the decision I made. No matter what, I just want to be happy.

Leave a Reply

